Board of Trustees



Bishop Kim W. Brown

Bishop Kim W. Brown, Chairman

Kim W. Brown is the Senior Pastor of Mount Lebanon Baptist Church with locations in Chesapeake, VA., Elizabeth City, NC, Newport News, VA, and Charlotte, NC. Brown received his B.S. in Engineering from Norfolk State University. He received a Master of Divinity degree and a Doctorate of Ministry degree from Samuel D. Proctor School of Theology at Virginia Union University.


Harold Barnes

Harold Barnes, Vice Chairman

Harold Barnes is the President and CEO for The Center for Quantum Leadership, a company that promotes personal accountability and leadership development. He is a graduate of ECSU receiving a B.A. in Political Science. He also received his Juris Doctorate from North Carolina Central University School of Law.


Virginia Tillett

Ms. Virginia Tillett, Secretary


Ms. Virginia Tillett, a retired educator and a 1989 graduate of ECSU, was appointed by the UNC Board of Governors. She is charter member of newly formed Kiwanis Club of Roanoke Island and President of Roanoke Island Freedman's Colony in Dare County.


Andy Culpepper

Andy Culpepper

 Andy Culpepper is the Managing Director  for Warner, Hood, & Culpepper Family Wealth Management Group of Wells Fargo Advisors in Greenville, NC.  He has over 30 years of experience in the industry, providing professional investment consulting and asset management services.


Andy Hartsfield Jacob A. Hartsfield, IV

Andy Hartsfield is a retired Vice President of Public Policy and Advocacy for GlaxoSmithKline. He currently serves as the Associate Vice President, Public Policy, Sanofi. Hartsfield earned a bachelor of arts degree in chemistry in 1977 from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a law degree in 1980 from Wake Forest University School of Law in Winston-Salem, N.C.


L.P. Hornthal Jr.

L.P. Hornthal Jr.

L.P. Hornthal, Jr. has practiced law in Elizabeth City since 1965, specializing in civil litigation.  He was admitted to the NC State Bar in 1963, the U.S. Court of Appeals, Fourth Circuit in 1975, and the U.S. Supreme Court in 1978.


Joseph T. Jenkins

Dr. Joseph T. Jenkins

Dr. Joseph T. Jenkins is a surgeon in Elizabeth City, N.C., Carolina Surgical Care. He completed his residency in 2003 at UNC Chapel Hill. He serves on the Elizabeth City Boys Club Board, the Pals Board and serves on the Vision 2020 task force out of the Mayor's office. He attended UNC Chapel Hill where he received his B.A. and M.D. degrees.


Paul Norman

Dr. Paul Norman

Dr. Paul Norman is a 1981 graduate of ECSU and a retired educator. He also served as a former president of the National Alumni Association (ECSU). He was appointed by the UNC Board of Governors and his term expires in 2017.


Jan King Robinson

Jan King Robinson

Jan King Robinson's professional life has spanned two lengthy and intertwined careers in both healthcare and higher education administration. She has held positions in hospital administration as Interim President, Vice President of Operations, Vice President of Clinical Services, and Vice President of Human Resources and Organizational Development.  She has taught as an adjunct professor of Communications at Loyola University of Chicago, the University of Pennsylvania, and Hinds Community College in Pearl, Mississippi.


Tracy Swain

Tracy Swain

Mr. Tracy Swain is President of Swain & Temple, Inc., located in South Mills, N.C. He is a governor's appointee whose term will expire in 2017.


Harvey N. Walker Jr,

Mr. Harvey N. Walker Jr.

Mr. Harvey N. Walker, Jr. serves as Mayor Pro-Tem of Morehead City, and the CEO of Coastal Carolina Industries. He is a graduate of Western Carolina University. His term will expire in 2017.


Fred Yates

Mayor Fred Yates
Mayor of Winfall, N.C

Mayor Fred Yates is a former member of the ECSU Foundation Board, Board of Trustees and a Trustee Emeritus.






Ajanae Willis

Ajanae Willis, President of the Student Government Association, will serve for one year on the Board of Trustees.  Willis is a senior majoring in History from Fayetteville, N.C.