Music Department



All students seeking to major or minor in music must first gain admission into Elizabeth City State University by applying to the university through the Office of Admissions. Following admission to the university, prospective music majors must complete and pass an audition and take the Music Theory Placement Exam (MTPE). The audition is used as a diagnostic tool by the Music Department faculty to determine if a student has the level of skills and training needed to successfully pursue a major in music at the university level. The MTPE is used to determine a students' placement in the music theory sequence. Students with minor deficiencies in theory will be placed in the Theory Rudiments I.

Non-music majors

Non-music Majors are permitted to register for applied music on a space-available basis. Priority for enrollment is given to students in ensembles and/or with previous experience. No additional charges for applied instruction are required. Students enrolled are required to purchase music needed in their instruction.

All students regardless of degree programs may take classes authorized by the music department. All ensemble classes are available to non-music majors. However, students must audition for acceptance into an ensemble. Ensembles include: ECSU University Choir, ECSU Marching Band, ECSU Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Collegians Jazz Ensemble, Choral Ensemble, ECSU Albemarle Community Orchestra, University Basketball Band, and Percussion Ensemble.

Non-music students, with guidance from their advisor, may take the following courses:

  • MUS 110 Piano Class for Beginners
  • MUS 116 Beginning in Fall 2006 Introduction to Music Industry Studies
  • MUS 118 Music Theory Rudiments
  • MUS 212 The African-American in Music
  • MUS 307 A Study of Nonwestern Music