Home / Academics / Military Science


Department of Military Science

Maj. William J. Ward of ECSU's ROTC Program delivered Memorial Day speech
Kesha Williams
May 31, 2011

From small town monuments to national memorial sites, Americans paused to observe Memorial Day and to honor veterans who died in service to the country. Each sacrificed life painted another bold stripe in the flag of freedom. According to Maj. William J. Ward, our freedom should never be discounted. [continued]

Barnes leaves ROTC program on course for a bright future
Kesha Williams
May 31, 2011

Lt. Col. Troy D. Barnes has completed a three-year assignment as the commanding officer of the Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) program at Elizabeth City State University. [continued]

Seven Cadets Commissioned on May 6 at ECSU
Lt. Col. Troy D. Barnes
May 10, 2011

The Military Science Department at Elizabeth City State University held its Spring 2011 Commissioning Ceremony for seven cadets on May 6, 2011. [continued]

Military Science Department announces cadets on Dean's List and other award winners
Kesha Williams
May 2, 2011

The Military Science Department at Elizabeth City State University recently held its annual military ball and announced a host of award winners. Award categories ranged from academics to physical fitness tests where cadets are expected to excel as they progress toward the day when they will complete the program and become commissioned as 2nd Lieutenants in the U. S. Army. [continued]

Cadet Ashley Smith becomes first female Battalion Commander in nearly a decade
Kesha Williams
March 21, 2011

Life is a series of opportunities either seized or missed. Ashley Smith, a 24-year-old cadet in the Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) at Elizabeth City State University, seized a precious opportunity to earn a college degree when she received a scholarship. [continued]

ECSU Military Science Department earns the Iron Mike Award
Kesha Williams
January 10, 2011

Lt. Col. Troy Barnes proudly strode to the stage of the Floyd L Robinson Auditorium during the 2011 Winter Faculty/Staff Institute and presented to Chancellor Gilchrist and staff and faculty representatives, the 2010 Iron Mike Award. [continued]


Spring 2010

Not on our distribution list? Contact us at ghoverton@ecsu.edu so we can add you.