Frequently Asked Questions
- How can I get a copy of my transcript?
- How much does a transcript cost?
- How do I get a letter certifying that I am a student (i.e. for insurance)?
- Can a lender get verification that a borrower is a current student?
- Where can I get a Permit for Transient Study form?
- If I have a hold on my account. What do I do to take care of this?
- I received a notice regarding a Tuition Surcharge. What is this?
- I need a class to graduate, but the class is full, what can I do?
- How do I apply for graduation?
- Do I qualify for a degree with distinction?
- Can I choose which classes are accepted from my transcript?
- What are the school codes for ECSU?
- How do I with draw from the University?
There is an $5.00 charge for each transcript plus shipping and handling. Orders can
be placed online, within Self-Service Banner or you may order an electronic copy of
your official transcript through the National Student Clearinghouse. All transcripts are $5.00 per copy with additional costs for using this online service.
On SSB students can obtain a verification certificate. Under the Student Records tab, the link NSC. This is an official document. Some agencies still require a letter, therefore students will need to submit a Student Verification form and hand deliver or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
Yes, all of our enrollment certifications for lenders are done through the National Student Clearinghouse. Lenders may contact them at 703-742-7791 for more information.
Log on Self Service Banner to see what type of hold you have on your account. If you're unable to see the hold, please contact the Office of the Registrar at 252-335-3300 or 252-335-3302 and we can send you to the appropriate office. For balance holds, please contact Student Accounts.
In accordance with North Carolina law and under the direction of UNC General Administration,
the North Carolina tuition surcharge policy is in place at Elizabeth City State University.
This policy applies to all undergraduate students at ECSU who are in a degree program
and have completed at least eight semesters of college or university study since high
school graduation. For more information, please visit the Tuition Surcharge page.
The student must contact the instructor and Department Chair to seek approval for a capacity override.
This process begins in the student’s major department with their advisor or department chair. There’s an application for graduation process.
Degrees with distinction are awarded to graduating seniors in the following categories:
- Cum Laude for GPA 3.25 through 3.59
- Magna Cum Laude for GPA 3.60 through 3.79
- Summa Cum laude for GPA 3.80 through 4.00
65 credits can be accepted from a community college and 94 credits from a university.
If students have attended both a community college and a university, the total number
of credits that will be accepted is 94 credits. Grades must be “C” or higher for
transfer credit to be given.
- School Code for ACT is 3095
- School Codes for College Board/SAT is 5629
- School Codes for FAFSA is 002926
A student who wishes or is asked to leave the University at any time during the semester shall complete and file official withdrawal forms. These forms may be obtained from the Office of the Registrar located in the Marion D. Thorpe Administration Building, first floor.
Students who withdraw from the University prior to the published deadline to withdraw from the University shall receive a "WD" in all classes they’re still enrolled in. Failure to execute and file these forms in a timely manner will result in a student incurring the penalty of receiving an "F" for each course in which he or she was enrolled during the semester in question.
Students must see Student Accounts or Financial Aid to receive approval to add classes back. Student Accounts will notify the Office of the Registrar through E4U regarding the student’s eligibility to pay. The Office of the Registrar will remove the hold and the student can re-register for courses.