Viking Varsity Club

Viking Varsity Club


Founded in 2003, the Viking Varsity Club’s mission is to provide financial support for Elizabeth City State University’s Department of Athletics.

Their club’s primary goals are to:

  • Increase membership by more than 20%;
  • Seek corporate support;
  • Enhance VIKING networking; and
  • Increase attendance at sports events

Our Accomplishments (July 1, 2012 – June 30 2013):

  • 90% Club Members renewal;
  • Financially assisted all sports in the Athletic Department;
  • Use of the skybox at home games;
  • Increase in corporate sponsorships;
  • Benny Hodges Endowed Scholarship – Endowment through the Viking Varsity Club (VVC)
  • Bi-annual meetings with Coaches, VVC Members and Administrative Staff;
  • Provided game tickets for high school students; and 
  • Incentives for Championship team. 

Meet our Board!

4- Year Term 3 - Year Term 2 - Year Term
Leroy Williams, '65, Chairperson  Ulysses Bell, III, '65  Matthews Coates, '88, Vice Chairperson
Pamela Hunter, '88  Jeanette Evans, '63  Pat Harris, '74, Secretary
Lenora Mackey, ‘67 Nathaniel Grant, '68 Cassie Swimpson, '71, Treasurer
Shirley Turnage, '67 Susie Hodges, '65 Evelyn Shaw, '66, Financial Secretary
Celeste Williams, '64 Nathaniel Moore, '62 Wytella Ford, '83, Parliamentarian 

Members Appointed by Chancellor

  • Charles Becton, JD, Interim Chancellor
  • Lin Dawson, Interim Athletic Director
  • William G. Smith, Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement
  • Doug Yopp, Associate Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement

Click here to join and for more information about the Viking Varsity Club!