Home / The Office of the Chancellor / Institutional Advancement / The Elizabeth City State University Foundation / Founders Day Scholarship Gala

Past Chancellor's Legacy Award Honorees

Founders Day Scholarship Gala

2014 ECSU Founders Day Gala VII

  • Willis Langley, CEO/Owner of seven (7) McDonalds Restaurants in Columbia, SC
  • Willie Stewart, Jr., Retired teacher and football coach; holds the distinction of being the football coach with the highest number of wins in DC history
  • Richard Olson, City manager of Elizabeth City, NC
  • Lieutenant Commander Navin L. Griffin, Chief of Contingency and Preparedness and Force Readiness, USCG
  • Dr. Shirley Murphy Turnage, Retired educator and owner of Dominion Consulting and Grant Writing, LLC

2013 ECSU Founders Day Gala VI

  • Carroll Hurdle, Retired Educator/Counselor, Washington County Schools
  • Norris Earl Francis, Retired National Account Executive for N. E. Francis, LLC
  • Mike Chandler , CEO, Rejoice Musical Soulfood Radio Network
  • Elston Howell, Philanthropist
  • Congressman G. K. Butterfield, United States Representative, 1st Congressional District of North Carolina
  • Commander Warren Judge, United States Coast Guard
  • Dr. Stephanie Dance-Barnes, Assistant Professor, Cell and Molecular Biology, Winston-Salem State University

2012 ECSU Founders Day Gala V

  • Norman M. Cherry, Sr., Retired Educator, Bertie County High School, Windsor, NC
  • Todd W. Tilley, Perquimans County Clerk of Superior Court, Hertford, NC
  • Patricia Youngblood, Executive Director, Albemarle Hopeline, Elizabeth City, NC
  • Bishop Kim W. Brown, Senior Pastor, The Mount-Chesapeake, VA and Elizabeth City, NC
  • Roger McLean, Former Mayor, City of Elizabeth City
  • Mark R. Brown, Executive Director, Village Learning Solutions, LLC, Raleigh, NC
  • Dr. Lindsey L. White, Founder and CEO, Eastern Carolina Cardiovascular, Specialist:  Cardiologist/Registered Pharmacist, Elizabeth City, NC
  • Randy M. Jones, Program Director & On-Air Personality, 89.9 WRVS-FM, ECSU
  • Colonel Warline S. Richardson, United States Army

 2011 ECSU Founders Day Gala IV

  • Reverend Vonner G. Horton, Senior Pastor, Oxley Hill Missionary Baptist Church, Member, ECSU Board of Trustees
  • Colonel Thurinton W. Harvell, Sr., '88, United States Army
  • Edna Gray Randolph, '45, Trustee Emerita; ECSU Board of Trustees; Trailblazer for ECSU National Alumni Association; Retired Educator
  • Philip R. Johnson, Regional Manager, Pepsi Bottling Ventures, LLC
  • Danny and Carol Flowers, Business Owners, Flowers Printing
  • Dr. Roger Hathaway, '72, Director, Office of Education, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA
  • Leonard Carmichael, '72, Member, ECSU 1969 CIAA Championship Basketball Team; Retired Educator
  • Matthew Lewis, Jr., '64, Retired Executive, Verizon; Philanthropist, Executive Director, Geraldine Wright Lewis Memorial Scholarship Fund

2010 ECSU Founders Day Gala III

  • Cola Ashe, Retired Counselor and Philanthropist, Rich Square, NC
  • Dr. Helen Marshall Caldwell, Retired Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, ECSU
  • The Honorable Melvin Daniels, Jr., (Retired) Senator, North Carolina, General Assembly
  • LTC Mechelle Hale, ’88, United States Army
  • Wanda Hunt McLean, First Lady, City of Elizabeth City, NC; Retired Faculty, ECSU; Historical Researcher, Underground Railroad
  • Jethro Pugh, ’66, Retired Defensive Tackle, Dallas Cowboys; Owner/ CEO, Pugh Gift Shops, Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport
  • Dr. Claude M. Odom, Pastor, New Middle Swamp Missionary Baptist Church; Eastern Area Administrator, Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
  • Frank H. Skidmore, Jr., Trustee Emeritus, ECSU Board of Trustees; Co-founder, ECSU Board of Visitors; Retired IBM Executive
  • Julius Walker, Jr., ’67, Retired Superintendent, Washington County Schools (NC)
  • Linwood Williams, ’69, Superintendent, Elizabeth City-Pasquotank County Public Schools

2009 ECSU Founders Day Gala

  • Dr. Charles Cherry, ’63, ECSU Professor and Founding Dean, ECSU School of Education and Psychology
  • Dr. Claudie Mackey, ’65, First Alumnus to serves as ECSU’s Head Basketball Coach Men; ECSU Professor; Co-founder of DEVFC
  • The Honorable Annie Ward Mobley, ’63, First ECSU Alumna (elected to serve), NC House of Representative
  •  Dr. Wayne K. Stallings, ’85, First ECSU Alumnus to serve as Superintendent, Perquimans County Schools
  • Captain Christopher E. Austin, ’84, United States Coast Guard
  • (Ret) Colonel Randy Braxton Bell, ’72, United States Marine Corps
  • Captain Roosevelt R. Wright, Jr. ’64, US Navy Reserves; Professor, Publication Communications, Syracuse University
  • Pedro Holley, ’74, Manager, ECSU Bookstore
  • Dr. Johnny L. Houston, ECSU Mathematical and Computational Scientist and Senior Research Professor of Mathematics and Computer Sciences
  • Melyvn N. Riley, ’61, Retired IBM Executive
  • Vonda Reed Riley, ’65, Retired Teacher, Montgomery County (MD) Public Schools