Aviation science students complete Coast Guard leadership academy

Aviation science students complete Coast Guard leadership academy

Kesha Williams
August 20, 2015

aviation-science-studentsThe United States Coast Guard Academy in New London, Conn., welcomed two ECSU students as participants this summer.

Yarrell King from Walstonburg, N.C., and Austin Ivins, from Camden, N.C., completed The Mentor and Leadership Academy (MLA) which took place from June 14 to July 26.

The mission of the MLA is to foster the next generation of the nation's scientists and engineers by inspiring diverse students to continue their pursuit of higher education in the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields. MLA provides a realistic Academy experience ?founded on superior cadet leadership, camaraderie, and robust logistical support.

The participants received a $3,000 stipend. An additional stipend of $1,800 will be provided throughout the academic year for successful implementation of the STEM outreach, mentoring, and leadership component of the program when the students return to ECSU.

Eligible participants must meet the minimum requirements:

A student majoring in an engineering or STEM discipline; a student enrolled at a qualifying institution as a rising sophomore or junior; a student who possesses a strong desire to mentor youth; a student who can thrive in a military environment (for 6 weeks.)

The USCG Academy believes that it must be capable of serving an ever-diverse nation and world by tying together academic excellence, mission readiness, and social diversity under the rubric of leadership development.

First row, left to right:
Ashley Prat (University of Texas at El Paso), Sheriff Asokuarami (Morgan State University), Kareemah Weaver, (Morgan State University), Rear Admiral James E. Rendon (Superintendent, U.S. Coast Guard Academy), Favour Ihekweme (Morgan State University), Master Chief Joseph E. Smith (Command Master Chief, U.S. Coast Guard Academy)

Second row, left to right:
Dr. Brian Gates (U.S. Coast Guard Academy), Yarrell King (Elizabeth City State University), Mario Piña (Morgan State University), Victor Madrid (University of Texas at El Paso), Mr. Andrew Duffield (U.S. Coast Guard Academy), Austin Ivins (Elizabeth City State University), Lieutenant Command Corinna Fleischmann (U.S. Coast Guard Academy

Photo appears courtesy of Shalane Regan/U.S. Coast Guard Academy.