Home / Outreach & Engagement

Summer 2013 Programs

Outreach & Engagement

Middle School Students | High School Students | Incoming Freshman | Current Students | Educators

For Middle School Students

CReSIS Middle School Program
June 17 - 28, 2013
Contact:
Darnell Johnson
252-335-3977
djohnson@ecsu.edu

Teaching Earth Science to Inspire New Geologists
July 15-26, 2013
Contact:
Thomas J. Rossbach
252-335-3376
tjrossbach@ecsu.edu

ECSU NC-MSEN Pre-College Program
North Carolina Mathematics and Science Education Network
July 28-August 3
Contact: Milton Bond, Program Director
mtbond@ecsu.edu
Melanie Baker, Program Assistant
252-335-3409
mmbaker@ecsu.edu

IDEA (Increasing Diversity and Enhancing Academia)
August 5-9, 2013
Contact:
Megan Hughes
Meganhughes@unc.edu
OR
Michele Drostin
Michele.drostin@unc.edu
visit www.ie.unc.edu/IDEA

Back to Top


For High School Students

Upward Bound
June 9 - July 19, 2013
Contact:
Regina Price
252-335-3862
rgprice@ecsu.edu

1st Annual High School Band Camp
June 23 - 29, 2013
Contact:
Tomisha Brock
252-335-3658
tbrock@ecsu.edu

Undergraduate Research Experience & Summer Research Internship for High School Students
June 17 - July 26
Contact:
A. Victor Adedeji
252-335-8538
avadedeji@ecsu.edu

Ace Academy
Co-Ed June 23-28, 2013
Girls only July 14-19, 2013
Contact:
J. A. Sharp
252-335-3443
jasharp@ecsu.edu
OR
Willie Brown
252-335-8746
wbrown@ecsu.edu

Using Science and Mathematics to Achieve Success in High School Summer Program (U.S.M.A.S.H)
June 17 - June 28
Contact:
Farrah Jackson
252-335-3544
fmjackson@ecsu.edu

2013 Summer Transportation Institute (STI)
June 10, 2013 - July 8, 2013
Contact:
Ellis Lawrence
252-340-3446
eelawrence@ecsu.edu
OR
Kuldeep S. Rawat
252-335-3846
ksrawat@ecsu.edu

Pre-College Summer Workshop for High School Seniors
July 22 - 26, 2013
Contact:
Dr. Shahid Shahidullah
smshahidullah@ecsu.edu
757-373-4930

ECSU NC-MSEN Pre-College Program
North Carolina Mathematics and Science Education Network
July 28-August 3
Contact: Milton Bond, Program Director
mtbond@ecsu.edu
OR
Melanie Baker, Program Assistant
252-335-3409
mmbaker@ecsu.edu

Back to Top


For Incoming Freshman

MODEL Scholars Program
June 22 - 26
Contact:
Lolita Tuner
252-335-8704
llturner@ecsu.edu

The Virginia - North Carolina Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Bridge Program
June 23rd - July 26th, 2013
Contact:
Gloria E. Payne
252-335-3595
gepayne@ecsu.edu

Back to Top


For Current Students

ECSU-Minority Health International Research Training Program (E-MHIRT)
May 14 - July 27, 2013
Contact:
Ephraim Gwebu
252-335-3233
etgwebu@ecsu.edu

Undergraduate Research Experience & Summer Research Internship
June 1 - July 26
Contact:
A. Victor Adedeji
252-335-8538
avadedeji@ecsu.edu

VESTEM - Vikings Enhancing Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
June 23rd - July 26th, 2013
Contact:
Raynard Townsel
252-335-2913
rktownsel@ecsu.edu

REU-CReSIS Program
May 20 - July 12, 2013
Contact:
Linda Hayden
252-335-3696
haydenl@mindspring.com

Watershed Watch Program
May 2-31, 2013
Contact:
Linda Hayden
252-335-3696
haydenl@mindspring.com

Summer 2013 MSEIP Synthetic Biology Internship
May 20, 2013-July 30, 2013
Contact:
Gary L. Harmon
252-335-3394
glharmon@ecsu.edu
OR
Ronald H. Blackmon
252-335-3240
rhblackmon2@ecsu.edu

ARIES: Applied Research In Environmental Science
May 15th- August 5th, 2013\
Contact:
Lloyd Mitchell
252-335-3693
lwmitchell@ecsu.edu

ALEMIE: Application of Lessons from Model Institutions for Excellence: A Comprehensive Support for Minority Students in the Biological Sciences at ECSU
|June 23rd - July 23rd, 2013
Contact:
Eyualem Abebe
252-335-3236
Eabebe@ecsu.edu

Noyce Scholars Program
Duration: June 10, 2013 - June 28, 2013
Contact:
Farrah Jackson
252-335-8459
fmjackson@ecsu.edu

Back to Top


For Educators

Engaging Minority University STEM Education Professors in the Science of Climate Change
July 28-Aug 2
Contact:
Linda Hayden
252-335-3696
haydenl@mindspring.com

Geology of the Inner Solar System Workshop
May 21-June 18, 2013
Contact:
Thomas J. Rossbach
252-335-3376
tjrossbach@ecsu.edu

Back to Top