Home / Chancellor Search

ECSU Chancellor Search Committee Membership

Chancellor Search


  • Abdul Sm Rasheed of Henderson is the Retired-President/CEO of the N.C. Community Development Initiative, Inc

ECSU Faculty/Staff

  • Pernell Bartlett, ECSU Staff Senate Chair
  • Dr. Margery Coulson-Clark is an Associate Professor, History & Political Science at ECSU
  • Dr. Darnell Johnson is the Distinguished Professor, ECSU School of Education & Psychology
  • Dr. Kuldeep Rawat is an Department Chair/Director, ECSU Department of Technology/ Aviation Science
  • Dr. Kim Stevenson is ECSU’s  Director of Distance Education & Continuing Education
  • Ben Durant is Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance at ECSU

Community & Emeritus

  • Robert L. Bobby Vaughan is an ECSU Professor Emeritus with 48 years of service.
  • Jeff Dixon is the Chairman of the Pasquotank County Board of Commissioners and President of City Beverage Inc.
  • Jan King Robinson serves as the Interim President of Albemarle Health.
  • L.P. “Tony” Hornthal, Jr. has practiced law in Elizabeth City since 1965, specializing in civil litigation.

ECSU Alumni

  • Ervin Simons ’71 is present Chairman of the ECSU National Alumni Board of Directors.
  • Jeanette Evans ’63 is President of the ECSU National Alumni Association.
  • Dr. Sadie Johnson Carter ’72 is a retired educator.
  • William Barnes ’69 is the Regional Director of Prince George’s County (MD) Public Schools.
  • Leroy Williams ’65 is the President of the ECSU Viking Varsity Club

Trustees/Foundation Board

  • Paul Norman, ’81 is Dean of Students at Wake Technical Community College
  • Rodney Hawkins ’99 is the Chairman of the ECSU Foundation Board and CEO of Evolve Therapeutic Counseling Services
  • Rev. Ricky Banks ’77 is the Vice-Chair of the ECSU Foundation Board and Pastor, St. Stephens Missionary Baptist Church
  • Norma James ’88 is the Secretary of the ECSU Board of Trustees and Managing Broker of Taylor Mueller Realty in Elizabeth City.
  • Rev. Vonner Horton is a member of the ECSU Board of Trustees and Senior Pastor of the Oxley Hill Baptist Church
  • Priscilla Azagio is ECSU’s Student Government Association President, 2013-2014.