Home / Academics / Department of Technology

Department of Technology


Science Students

Welcome to the Department of Technology at the Elizabeth City State University. The Department of Technology offers baccalaureate degree programs in Engineering Technology, Computer Networking & Cybersecurity (formerly Industrial Technology) and Aviation Science. The students majoring in other disciplines can minor in any of these degree programs. The Bachelor of Science Degree programs are designed to prepare technical professionals for employment in industry, business, government, and education. An experienced and dedicate faculty helps each student on an individual basis to choose the curriculum that best meets his/her career interests. The Department is committed to promoting excellence in teaching, research, services, and scholarly activities.

The University's proximity to the many large and small businesses, manufacturers, military installations, and government agencies that are integrally involved with information technology and engineering technology, aviation and aerospace makes Elizabeth City State University ideally located for students interested in technology, aviation and/or aerospace careers.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Technology is to provide students with educational and research opportunities in an extensive array of rewarding professional careers in industrial and engineering technology, aviation, and technical management by offering a rigorous curriculum to advance scholarship and promote excellence in emerging technologies.

B.S. in Engineering Technology

The degree program in Engineering Technology offers specializations in Computer and Information Technology and Mechanical and Automation Technology.

B.S. in Computer Networking & Cybersecurity Technology

The nationally accredited degree program in Computer Networking & Cybersecurity Technology (Formerly Industrial Technology) offers curriculum leading to technical skills in the area of Electronics, Computer Networking, and Cybersecurity.

B.S. in Aviation Science

The only four year Aviation Science degree program in the State of North Carolina offers specializations in Flight Education/Professional Pilot, Air Traffic Control, Aviation Electronics (Avionics), and Aviation Management. Each of these areas of study is specifically designed to meet the requirements that have been approved by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

If you have any questions related to the programs offered in the Department of Technology at ECSU, feel free to contact me at my at: 252-335-3846, or even better, plan a visit to our department and campus by contacting Admissions Office at admissions@ecsu.edu or call (800) 347-3278 or (252) 335-3305. No matter what your decision, I can assure you that anyone of our degree programs will serve you well and prepare you for a gainful career. I look forward to discuss our programs with you. Good luck in your educational endeavor!!!

Mehran Elahi, Ph. DKuldeep Rawat PhD, Chairperson
Department of Technology
122-A Dixon-Patterson Hall
Campus Box 850
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Phone: 252-335-3846 | Fax: 252-335-3760


The Computer Networking & Cybersecurity Technology (Formerly Industrial Technology) Program is accredited by The Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE).