Search Committee

Chancellor Search Committee


The 18-member committee leading the search for Elizabeth City State University’s next chancellor is broadly representative of the University family – including administrators, faculty, students, alumni, current and former Trustees and a liaison from the Board of Governors. In addition, we have representation from civic and business leaders.

The search committee is charged with scheduling of open forums to solicit input from members of the university’s various constituencies – faculty, staff, students, alumni, and the community, building the Leadership Profile based on the feedback received from the constituents, and will recommend three finalists to the full ECSU Board of Trustees. 

After evaluating the committee’s slate of candidates, the ECSU trustees will recommend the three unranked candidates to University of North Carolina System President Margaret Spellings for consideration or will return the slate of candidates to the search committee for further action. Following her evaluation of the candidates, Spellings will then recommend one finalist to the University of North Carolina Board of Governors for approval.

The search process, while confidential, demands adherence to proper process, regulation and documentation. That includes following North Carolina Open Meeting Law, and relevant provisions of the University Code.

Search Committee Members:

ECSU Board of Trustees
    Harold Barnes,
    Bishop Kim Brown
    Jan King Robinson
    Kennis Wilkins
    Andy Culpepper

ECSU  Staff Senate 
    Cynthia Horne  

ECSU Faculty Senate 
    Scott Bradshaw

ECSU Foundation President
    Jeanette H. Evans

ECSU Natl. Alumni Assoc. President
     Abdul Rasheed

ECSU SGA President
    Chorn Poyner 

ECSU Staff
    Nancy Underwood-Melton
         Title IX Coordinator/Investigator
         Government Relations 


Community Representatives
    Lenora J. Mackey
President and CEO (River City, CDC)
  Richard Olson
            City Manager (Elizabeth City, NC)
    Charles Creighton
            Local Business Owner (Colony Tire Corp.)
    Deran R. Whitney
Superintendent of Public Schools (Suffolk, VA)
    The Honorable Joyce Brown
             Mayor of Williamston, NC
    Ms. Tanya Turner
              Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction
             (Edenton-Chowan Schools)

UNC Board of Governors
     Steven Long
UNC Board of Governors