Chancellor's Cabinet

ECSU Board of Trustees



 Jan King Robinson

TERM: 2015-2023

Jan King Robinson’s professional life has spanned two lengthy and intertwined careers in both healthcare and higher education administration over the past 40 years. She has held positions in hospital administration as Interim President, Vice President of Operations, Vice President of Clinical Services, Vice President of Human Resources and Organizational Development. She served as Assistant Director of Upward Bound at Loyola University of Chicago, the Associate Director of Admissions for the Wharton Graduate School of Business, and Assistant Dean of the Davis School of Business at Elizabeth City State University. Jan received her BA from Stanford University, MA from Northwestern University, and her JD from the University of Pennsylvania Law School.


LYNNE BUNCH (Vice Chair)
TERM: 2017-2021

Lynne M. Bunch is a native of Camden County, N.C.  She obtained a BS degree from UNC Chapel Hill and MA Ed from East Carolina University. A native of Camden County, North Carolina, Ms. Bunch graduated from The Camden County Public School system and continued her education at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Ms. Bunch held a number of positions at College of the Albemarle (COA) with her serving the last eight years of her career there as the President.  She has served on numerous boards and committees, including local chambers of commerce, Committee of 100, Downtown Business Associations, Economic Development Board, NCCCS Presidents’ Association- serving as Legislative Chair-, and NCCCS Planning and Research Organization-serving as president.


TERM: 2017-2021

Dr. Stephanie D.B. Johnson is the Coordinator of MA Program in Educational Leadership at Hampton University, College of Virginia Beach.  She is the Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, ECSU National Alumni Association and a 1974 graduate of ECSU. Dr. Johnson also holds a Master of Science, Elementary Education from Old Dominion University, Certificate of Advanced Studies, Elementary Education, Old Dominion University and Doctorate of Administration and Policy from The George Washington University.


TERM: 2019-2023

Harold Barnes is the President and CEO for The Center for Quantum Leadership, a company that promotes personal accountability and leadership development. He is a graduate of ECSU receiving a B.A. in Political Science. He also received his Juris Doctorate from North Carolina Central University School of Law.


TERM: 2017-2021

Phyllis N. Bosomworth is a native of North Carolina.  She is a graduate of UNC Chapel Hill with a degree in Political Science.  Her designations include Certified Residential Specialist, Certified Real Estate Brokerage Manager, Accredited Buyer Representative, and Senior Real Estate Specialist.   She is a seasoned veteran in the real estate business with Long and Foster.  She is active in the Local REALTORS Association, having served as past President of the Board.

 Captain Bruce C. Brown

TERM: 2017-2021

Commander Bruce C. Brown began service as Commanding Officer to base Elizabeth City in May, 2014.  He is currently Commanding Officer of CG Community Services Command in Chesapeake, VA.  He has earned degrees from the University of Phoenix and Charter Oak State College.  His military decorations include 5 Meritorious Service medals, 5 commendation medals, 2 achievement medals, Armed Forces Service Medal, Armed Forces Expeditionary medal, NATO Metal and many others.

Bishop Kim W. Brown

TERM: 2015-2023

Kim W. Brown is the Senior Pastor of Mount Lebanon Baptist Church with locations in Chesapeake, VA., Elizabeth City, NC, Newport News, VA, and Charlotte, NC. Brown received his B.S. in Engineering from Norfolk State University. He received a Master of Divinity degree and a Doctorate of Ministry degree from Samuel D. Proctor School of Theology at Virginia Union University.


TERM: 2019-2020

Emmanuel Butts is the  2019-20 Student Government Association President.  Emmanuel is a senior majoring in Business Management.  His hometown is Jacksonville, NC. 



Andy Culpepper

TERM: 2015-2023

Andy Culpepper is the Managing Director for Warner, Hood, & Culpepper Family Wealth Management Group of Wells Fargo Advisors in Greenville, NC.  He has over 30 years of experience in the industry, providing professional investment consulting and asset management services..

 Chris Evans

TERM: 2019-2023

Chris Evans is the Director of State Legislative and Regulatory Affairs for Blue Cross Blue Shield North Carolina where she monitors and responds to legislative and regulatory issues that impact the company through direct lobbying and development of internal and external networks. She was previously Associate Counsel for Blue Cross Blue Shield North Carolina. Ms. Evans began her career as a high school social studies teacher before entering the practice of law. She graduated from the University of North Carolina School of Law with a Juris Doctor with Honors in 1996. She earned a Master of Arts in Education from Columbia University in 1990, and a Bachelor of Arts in Economics with High Honors from Denison University in Granville, Ohio.

Tracy Swain

TERM: 2017-2021

Mr. Tracy Swain is President of Swain & Temple, Inc., located in South Mills, N.C.  



 paul tine

TERM: 2019-2023

Paul Tine is a former member of the North Carolina House of Representatives from Dare County. He is the owner of Midgett Insurance Agency in Manteo and Kitty Hawk. Mr. Tine has served on numerous boards including North Carolina Museum of Natural History advisory board, Northeast Commission, Northeast Rural Broadband, the Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce, and the Roanoke Island Historical Association. He is a graduate of James Madison University.

Kennis E. Wilkins

TERM: 2017-2021

Kennis E. Wilkins is the Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Faith Works Community Services, Inc. with offices in Williamston and Raleigh, N.C.  He served on the Elizabeth City State University Foundation Board for more than 10 years and  is a graduate of Elizabeth City State University. Mr. Wilkins is a member of several professional, civic, community and business organizations.