

Special Meeting - Governance Executive and Personnel Committee July 29, 2020 | Minutes | Virtual

The Governance Executive and Personnel Committee meeting was called to order at 11:03 a.m. by Board Chair Jan Kin Robinson.

Roll Call/Members in attendance: Trustees Harold Barnes, Lynne Bunch, Andy Culpepper, Stephanie Johnson, Jan King Robinson and Paul Tine.

Chair Robinson referenced the Board of Trustees self-assessment tool shared earlier with the Committee. (*copy on file*) All were in favor of moving forward with the document as presented. Chair Robinson instructed staff to move forward releasing the self-assessment, with the idea that the results will be returned prior to the September board meeting. Chair Robinson encouraged the Board members to stay in touch with their respective staff liaisons during the year.

Chair Robinson then opened discussion surrounding a Board of Trustees retreat and a retreat agenda. After discussion, it was decided that the Board will:

- Convene in a retreat format in November, date to be determined. Content will include short and long-term sustainability. Additionally members will look at the goals of the strategic plan and measure against the unprecedented events.
- Convene members (6 each) of the Board of Trustees, ECSU Foundation Board and the National Alumni Association. The purpose of this gathering will be to discuss fundraising (training) with a content expert.
- Chair Robinson will work with the Chancellor on topics surrounding Board Effectiveness.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned 12:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Gwendolyn Sanders

Gwendolyn Sanders Deputy Chief of Staff



Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees July 29, 2020 12:30 p.m. – Virtual

Trustee Chair Jan King Robinson called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

Roll Call: Trustees Harold Barnes, Phyllis Bosomworth, Lynne Bunch, Andy Culpepper, Jimmy Chambers, Christine Evans, Stephanie Johnson, Jan King Robinson, Paul Tine and Kennis Wilkins.

Motion was made and seconded (Bunch/Chambers) to go into closed session. Roll call vote outcome was unanimous.

Motion was made and seconded (Barnes/Bosomworth) to go into open session. Roll call vote outcome was unanimous.

Motion was made and seconded (Barnes/Wilkins) to approve presenting honorary degrees to Dr. William Roper (Doctor of Science) and Mrs. Lenora Jarvis Mackey (Doctor of Public Service). Motion was in favor unanimously by roll call vote.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:48 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Gwendolyn Sanders

Gwendolyn Sanders Deputy Chief of Staff