Chancellor's Academic Scholarship

Chancellor's Academic Scholarship


The Chancellor’s Academic Scholarship will be established (effective fall 2018) as a merit scholarship program for incoming freshmen at Elizabeth City State University (ECSU) to provide an outstanding educational experience for five students who are exceptional scholars, versatile and well-rounded individuals. Scholarship recipients will represent the core values of the institution through their commitment to excellence, accountability, diversity and the ECSU motto: “To live is to learn.”


Each recipient will be awarded a fully funded four-year scholarship that covers the cost of the following: full tuition, student fees, university housing, meals and textbooks.

Expectations of Recipients

Scholarships will be renewable contingent upon the following:

  • Maintain a 3.5 cumulative GPA annually
  • Enroll full time each semester and earn a minimum 30 credit hours each academic year
  • Maintain membership and active participation in the ECSU Honors Program

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Strong candidates are intellectually curious and able to articulate their ideas clearly. In evaluating candidates, the selection committee reviews the applicants’ responses to the application questions along with the entire application for freshman admission. To be eligible for the Chancellor’s Academic Scholarship, applicants must satisfy the following criteria:

  • Be a competitive applicant for admission as a freshman in the fall semester into a baccalaureate program at ECSU
  • Be on course to graduate from high school in the spring semester prior to college admission
  • Be a United States citizen or permanent resident
  • Have a minimum 3.5 or higher unweighted cumulative GPA
  • Show exceptional qualities of character and leadership
  • Demonstrate a commitment to academics, service and be involved in extracurricular activities
  • Submit a letter of recommendation supporting your application for this scholarship from a teacher, religious leader or supervisor to 



Submission Deadline:  January 15, 2021