Council of Endowed Professor

Council of Endowed Professors

The Council of Endowed Professors serve as leaders of the ECSU community through their scholarly activities, community engagement, and grant-funded programs.



 As a School Superintendent within the largest city in the state of Connecticut the focus of Dr. Johnson’s work was placed upon managing a $255 million-dollar budget, increasing the high school graduation rate, and simultaneously ensuring high quality instructional programs and retention of highly qualified educators.  She fervently led 38 schools with an enrollment of 21,000 students and employing over 3,000 dedicated staff members, increasing the graduation rate by 7% during her first year.  She has overseen Turnaround Schools on the secondary and elementary level, trained all staff/students in Cultural Competency, and implemented the first district-wide mandated graduation requirement for African American Studies, Caribbean Studies, and Perspectives on Race.  At the University level, Dr. Johnson served as the Director of Pk-12 Strategic Partnerships where she led initiatives to enhance community partnerships among school districts, education non-profit organizations, and philanthropic organizations.  Dr. Johnson is an author and has presented at several professional conferences on the local, state, and national level on a myriad of educational topics. Dr. Aresta L Johnson serves as the E.V. Wilkins Endowed Professor within the School of Education and a proud graduate of Elizabeth City State University where she earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry.  Dr. Johnson holds a Master of Science in Secondary Education and a Doctorate degree from the University of Bridgeport in Bridgeport, Connecticut.  Additionally, she has acquired the Superintendent Certification from the University of Connecticut’s NEAG School of Education.  Dr. Johnson has professional experience as a Pharmaceutical Chemist, School Superintendent, and College Administrator.   


Ebere A Oriaku joined Elizabeth City State University in 1985 as an assistant Professor of Business and Economics. Presently Ebere Oriaku is an endowed professor of Economics.

Professor Oriaku had chaired the Department of Business and Economics for over ten years and introduced many programs. He served the University as Director Center for Economic Education, Director for Summer School. He had taken students to several competitions under SIFE, now Enactus. And had several regional, and national awards. Professor Oriaku has written numerous articles in his field and has been awarded grants in collaboration with others. 

He was appointed endowed professor in 2013 with a mandate to work with Dean Bejou to obtain international accreditation in Business for ECSU Business Program. That task was accomplished. He was also mandated to write a curriculum for MBA program with international dimensions and this was done waiting for funding from the UNC system.

Professor Oriaku serves as an external, Ph.D. examiner for many Foreign Universities such as India and Dubai. He serves

ETS CLEP as a syndicate, and as reader for AP economics for ETS. He continues to serve ECSU with efficiency and high dedication. He served   as a consultant in ECSU’s award winning Choir tour to Africa in 2006.


Dr. Kuldeep Rawat is Thorpe Endowed Professor and Dean of School of Science, Aviation, Health and Technology at Elizabeth City State University (ECSU), Elizabeth City, North Carolina. Dr. Rawat holds an MS in Computer Science, MS in Computer Engineering, and a Ph.D. in Computer Engineering from Center for Advanced Computer Studies, University of Louisiana-Lafayette (ULL). At ULL he conducted research into video compression techniques for applications in aerial surveillance platforms used for monitoring wetlands. He has more than eighteen years of combined Industrial and Academic Research and Teaching experience. Dr. Rawat is an International Air Transportation Association (IATA) certified Aviation Management Professional.

Dr. Rawat provides leadership and manages the School’s administrative operations. The School of Science, Aviation, Health, and Technology (SAHT) is home to four academic departments and fifteen academic programs:  Natural Sciences (Biology BS/MS, Chemistry, and Sustainability Studies); Health & Human Studies (Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kinesiology, Psychology, and Social Work); Mathematics, Computer Science, and Engineering Technology (Mathematics BS/MS, Computer Science, Engineering Technology); and Aviation & Emergency Management (Aviation Science, Unmanned Aircraft Systems, and Emergency Management), which includes over sixty full-time and temporary employees.  In addition, the SAHT houses Aviation Science, the institution’s signature program. The SAHT also houses Center for Excellence in Remote Sensing Research and Education, NC Math/Science Enrichment Network (NC-MSEN), and ECSU’s Khan Planetarium.

Dr. Rawat has served as the Principal Investigator/Project Director on multiple grants, including National Institute of Justice (NIJ), Hewlett-Packard, the US Department of Transportation, NC Division of Aviation, NASA, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, and the Golden LEAF Foundation. He has secured over $5 Million in external funding to support research, teaching, program development/enhancement, and outreach projects at ECSU.

He also serves as the Director of ECSU’s signature/flagship program in Aviation Science. As the director of state’s only 4-year collegiate aviation program, he is responsible for conducting aviation program needs assessment, purchasing aircraft, flight simulators and ATC lab equipment, avionics trainers, laboratory upgrades and developing a strategic plan to grow and sustain state’s only four-year aviation education program. Recently, Dr. Rawat led the efforts to establish BS degree in Unmanned Aircraft Systems program at ECSU.

Other administrative responsibilities that he holds on campus are the Chief Research Officer, Campus Director for NC Space Grant Consortium, Activity Director for Department of Education/SAFRA project, Director of Unmanned Vehicle Systems Lab, and Director of Summer Transportation Institute and Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship program at ECSU.

His areas of interest are in designing embedded systems, PC-based instrumentation, mobile and aerial robotics, civilian applications of unmanned aerial systems, and innovative uses of educational technologies. He is one of the 10 recipients of 2009 HP Innovations in Education award to transform teaching and learning through innovative uses of technology.